Forest Hills offering autumn golf scrambles

Forest Hills Golf Course in La Crosse is presenting its Autumn Scramble Series in October.
There will be three Saturday events - Oct. 3, 17 and 24. Each event will have place payouts and hole events.
For players wishing to play in all three events, Forest Hills staff will have a cumulative scoring system for each event with a grand prize for the scramble champion. Golfers playing in all three events will also have their name placed in a hat for special prizes.
The first event is a four-person scramble on Saturday, Oct,. 3, while the remaining scrambles will be two-person events.
Tee times for all three events will be 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Entry fees for the first two scrambles are $25 per person, plus $39 per person green fees, including cart. All season pass holders are exempt from greens fees.
Entry fees for the Turkey Shoot final scramble is $30 each, plus $39 greens fees, including cart. Again, all season pass holders are exempt from greens fees. As a special prize, each flag event winner receives a turkey.
Men will play from the white tees, men age 62 and older from the gold tees and women from the red tees.
To enter your team, call 608-779-4653, or stop into the pro shop.

Onalaska’s Weber, DeBoer 8th in State 2-Man Team Championship

BERLIN, Wis - Joe Weber and James DeBoer of Onalaska, finished eighth in the Wisconsin State Golf Association 2-Man Team Championship at Mascoutin Golf Club in Berlin on Monday.
Weber and DeBoer posted a 2-over par 78-77-63--218.
Onalaska’s Montana Stewart and Jim Walkley finished 11th with 73-78-68--219, while Benjamin Bobinski of Suamico and Onalaska’s Ben Socha were 17th with 72-81-69--222.
In the Senior Division, Greg Johnson of Black River Falls and Rhinelander’s John Hogan shared ninth place with 75-82-64-221 in the Championship Division. Steve Etrheim of Plover and Tom Wilson from La Crescent, Minn., finished with a three-way tie for 12th place with 72-84-69-225. Jim Socha and Mike Bistodeau, both from Onalaska, finished 20th with 79-86-69--234, and Onalaska’s Michael Borgen and Rick Stewart tied for 21st place with 80-89-71-248.

Onalaska’s Weber paces La Crosse area players in Mid-Amateur

WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis - Onalaska’s Joe Weber led a contingent of nine La Crosse area players in the annual Wisconsin State Golf Association Mid-Amateur Championship at Wild Rock Golf Club in Wisconsin Dells on Wednesday.
Weber tied for 10th place in the Overall Gross Division with a 5-over par 76-73-149. Trempealeau’s Jake Dunn, the course superintendent at Forest Hills Golf Course in La Crosse, finished in a three-way tie for 29th place with 76-79-155. Jim Walkley and Marcus Williamson, both from Onalaska, tied for 37th place with 83-74-159 and 43rd place with 75-84-159, respectively. Greg Johnson, from Black River Falls, tied for 57th place with 84-80-164, while Holmen’s Michael Drugan shared 62nd place with 80-86-166. Onalaska’s Andy Tomashek finished 85th with 92-82-174, while Montana Stewart, also from Onalaska, tied for 89th place with 87-91-178. West Salem’s Tony Roberts did not finish.  
In the overall net division, Weber tied for 21st place with 153, Williamson tied for 28th place with 154, Johnson and Drugan in a group for 51st with 157, Walkley 58th with 158, Dunn 63rd with 159, Tomashek 85th with 168 and Stewart 92nd with 176.
Weber grabbed sixth place in the Directors Cup 25-39 age gross division with 149. Dunn finished 12th with 155, Williamson 18th with 159 and Tomashek 32d with 174.
Weber also tied for seventh place in the Directors Cup 25-39 age net division with 153, Williamson 12th with 154, Dunn 20th with 159 and Tomashek 30th with 168.
In the Governor’s Cup 40-54 age gross division, Walkley finished 11th with 157 and Stewart 22nd with 178. Walkley secured 15th place in the Governor’s Cup 40-54 age net division with 158 and Stewart 22nd with 176.
Johnson posted 164 for a 12 place finish in the Seniors age 55 and over gross division while Drugan was 13th with 166. Johnson and Drugan shared 12th place in the Seniors net division with 157.

Cedar Creek schedules fall golf events

ONALASKA, Wis. - The Golf Club at Cedar Creek in Onalaska has scheduled three events within the next few weeks for members and non-members alike.
Several super guest days began on Sept. 16, with several more held through the end of October.
Future guest days are scheduled on Wednesdays on Sept. 23 and 30, and Oct. 7, 14, 21 and 28.
Cost is $15 for members, which includes cart and lunch. Cost for non-members is $39 including 18 holes, cart and lunch.
A four-person big cup scramble is also scheduled Sunday, Sept. 27.
The first 30 teams begin at 1 p.m., with a shotgun start. Entry fee is $45 for members and $65 for non-members. Entry blanks are available in the golf shop.
The Cedar Creek Open is scheduled Sunday, Oct. 11, as a two-person 27-hole event. It is also limited to the first 30 teams.
Format features first nine holes as best ball, second nine an alternate shot, with a scramble the final nine holes.
More information is available at 608-783-8100.

DeRosa, Kaiser tie for 5th in Wisconsin PGA Championship

GREEN BAY, Wis - A pair of La Crosse area players finished in a fifth-place tie in the annual Wisconsin PGA Professional Golf Championship at the Green Bay Country Club on Tuesday.
Joe DeRosa, a pro at the La Crosse Country Club in Onalaska, and Jeff Kaiser, formerly of Onalaska, managed a two-day, 4-over par 148 in the 36-hole event.
DeRosa turned in rounds of 75-73. Kaiser, a former WIAA all-state player at Onalaska High School and four-year letterwinner at the University of Wisconsin in Madison, posted 71-77. Kaiser is the teaching professional and current manager of the TaylorMade Player Development Center in Madison. He and his wife currently reside in Verona.
DeRosa and Kaiser each pocketed $1,055.
Mick Smith, from Moorland Road Golf Club, won the event with a  1-under 75-68-143 and collected $4,000.